Click here to access your Patreon benefits or shop credit. Click here to access your Patreon benefits or shop credit.

Player One by Douglas Coupland

$10.00
| /

Coupland's 2010 Massey Lecture is a real-time, five-hour story set in an airport cocktail lounge during a global disaster. Five disparate people are trapped inside: Karen, a single mother waiting for her online date; Rick, the down-on-his-luck airport lounge bartender; Luke, a pastor on the run; Rachel, a cool Hitchcock blonde incapable of true human contact; and finally a mysterious voice known as Player One. Slowly, each reveals the truth about themselves while the world as they know it comes to an end. In the tradition of Kurt Vonnegut and J. G. Ballard, Coupland explores the modern crises of time, human identity, society, religion, and the afterlife. The book asks as many questions as it answers, and readers will leave the story with no doubt that we are in a new phase of existence as a species -- and that there is no turning back.

House of Anansi Press, 2010.
ISBN: 9780887849725. 246 pp.
Softcover. Near fine.

Success! Feel free to continue shopping or head to your cart .