Click here to access your Patreon benefits or shop credit. Click here to access your Patreon benefits or shop credit.

The Professor of Secrets: Mystery, Medicine, and Alchemy in Renaissance Italy by William Eamon

$15.00
| /

In the tradition of Galileo's Daughter and Brunelleschi's Dome, this exciting story illuminates the captivating world of the late Renaissance-in this case its plagues, remedies, and alchemy-through the life of Leonardo Fioravanti, a brilliant, remarkably forward-thinking, and utterly unconventional doctor. Fioravanti's marvelous cures and talent for self-aggrandizement earned him the adoration of the people, the scorn of the medical establishment, and a reputation as one of the age's most colorful, combative figures. Written by Pulitzer-prize nominated historian William Eamon, The Professor of Secrets entices readers into a dangerous scientific underworld of sorcerers and surgeons.

National Geographic Society, 2010.
ISBN: 9781426206504. 352 pp.
Hardcover. Fine in a fine jacket.

Success! Feel free to continue shopping or head to your cart .